skip to main content


  • Jump to:

Agenda for Change (AfC)

The national pay system for NHS Workforce excluding doctors, dentists and very senior managers.

Area of Work

The speciality area that a clinician works in. See below for descriptions of each of these:

Academic: Research, and/or teaching and supervision of those training in multidisciplinary CAMHS professional groups.

Forensic: Working with those children/adolescents who are in the criminal justice system, e.g. young offenders’ institutes, to address the underlying psychological or social challenges that led to the criminal behaviour.

Intensive Outreach: The provision of multi-disciplinary care by a team, which may include specialist nursing, psychologists, social workers and family therapists, for those with a high frequency and intensity of challenging behavioural, psychological and social behaviour and those who have had frequent admission to an inpatient unit.

Learning Disabilities: A learning disability is a reduced intellectual ability and difficulty with everyday activities, e.g. delayed childhood development, socialising, or physical tasks, which affects someone for their whole life. The level of support someone needs depends on the individual; those with a severe learning disability or profound and multiple learning disability (PMLD), will need more care from a multi disciplinary team and with areas such as mobility, personal care and communication.

Physical Health: Physical health is critical for overall well-being. Staff working in the area of physical health will cover a variety of components e.g. nutrition and diet, abstinence from or reduced consumption of alcohol, medical self-care following a diagnosis, and sleep problems.

Primary Mental Health: The provision of mental health services accessible to individuals and families in the community. It involves key psycho-social and behavioural science skills, e.g. interviewing, counselling and interpersonal skills in order to improve overall mental health outcomes in primary care.


There are 9 Pay Bands within AfC, each of which contains a number of pay points. NHS staff will normally progress to the next pay point annually until they reach the top of the pay point.


Child and Adolescent Mental Health Services provided by NHSScotland. Services are provided by teams of clinicians including psychiatrists, mental health nurses, clinical psychologists, occupational therapists and other allied health professionals. These services are based mainly in outpatient clinics and in the community.

Children and young people

The people served by CAMHS. Some areas provide services for all those under 18, while others offer services to those over 16 only if they are in full time education.


Term used in calculating NHS Scotland workforce information to describe total filled and vacant posts. Establishment is calculated by adding the number of staff in post to the number of vacant posts.


The actual number of individuals working within NHS Scotland. The Scotland figures eliminate any double counting that may exist as a result of an employee holding more than one post.

HEAT standards

A set of standards agreed between the Scottish Government and NHS Scotland relating to Health Improvement, Efficiency, Access or Treatment (HEAT).


Information Services Division


Local Authority Contract


National Education for Scotland


NHS Greater Glasgow & Clyde

Target Age

The age group of patients seen by a clinician. For example, some practitioners may work primarily with early years (0 – 4 year olds) whereas others may work in a service that mainly supports adolescents. While some practitioners specialise in working with a specific target age, others work across a range of ages.

Tiers of service provision

Tier 1- Child and adolescent mental health services at this level are provided by practitioners working in universal services who are not mental health specialists. This includes: GPs, health visitors, school nurses, teachers, social workers, youth justice and voluntary agencies. Tier 1 practitioners are able to offer general advice and treatment for less severe problems. They contribute towards mental health promotion, identify problems early in the child or young person’s development and refer to more specialist services.

Tier 2 – Mental Health Practitioners at this level tend to be CAMHS specialists working in community and primary care settings, in multi-disciplinary teams (although many will also work as part of tier 3 services). They can include mental health professionals employed to deliver primary mental health work, psychologists and counsellors working in GP practices, paediatric clinics, schools and youth services. Practitioners offer consultation to families and other practitioners outreach to identify severe or complex needs requiring specialist intervention.

Tier 3 – This is usually a multi-disciplinary team or service working in a community mental health clinic or child psychiatry outpatient service, providing a specialised service for children and young people with more severe, complex and persistent disorders. Team members are likely to include child and adolescent psychiatrists, social workers, clinical psychologists, community psychiatric nurses, child psychotherapists, occupational therapists and art, music and drama therapists.

Tier 4 – Essential tertiary level services such as intensive outreach services, day units and inpatient units. These are generally services for the small number of patients who are deemed to be at the greatest risk (of rapidly declining mental health or serious self-injury) and/or who require a period of intensive input for the purpose of assessment and/or treatment. Team members will come from the same professional groups as listed for tier 3. The clinical responsibility for overseeing the assessment, treatment and care for each tier 4 patient is likely to lie with a consultant child and adolescent psychiatrist or clinical psychologist. See the CAMHS tier model for further information.


A post which was vacant and being advertised for recruitment at the census date.

Whole-Time Equivalent (WTE)

The WTE adjusts headcount figures to take account of part-time working. For example, NHS Agenda for Change staff work 37.5 whole-time hours per week so a staff member working part-time at 30 hours per week would be calculated as 0.8 WTE.